- WARGAMING -

WARBASTION'S LOCATION:

Leisure centre, rear entrance via line wall road. Door No. 4 & 5.

SIGN UP TO OUR NEW FACEBOOK PAGE!
ALL MEMBERS PLEASE MAKE YOUR WAY OVER TO::

www.warbastion.com:

And Register

    Rule clarification - spells/animus

    Share

    Vangeleon
    Moderator

    Posts : 631
    Join date : 2010-05-24

    Rule clarification - spells/animus

    Post by Vangeleon on Sat Jun 04, 2011 3:50 am


    -Rhinodon, Charge then animus, thresher before charge resolved.

    -Rhinodon, Trample, then animus before resolving attacks from trample and fs.

    The trample itself is a melee attack. Since you cannot interrupt an attack, you wouldn't be able to do anything there in between.

    The charge works because it is split up into movement and attack. Sort of like giving an order to a unit. You do all your movements on the charges first, then you enter the next phase and go into your attacks.
    The same applies to other models. Movement and attack sequence have a seperation there for abilities and triggers to take place.

    But the trample is not seperated into these phases. You are sacrificing all your initial attacks to make the trample attack power. Basically, you have already begun and cannot interrupt these melee attacks.

    Vangeleon
    Moderator

    Posts : 631
    Join date : 2010-05-24

    Re: Rule clarification - spells/animus

    Post by Vangeleon on Sat Jun 04, 2011 10:51 am

    Seems some discusion about this now, seems like almost all believe its meant to act in the following manner.

    Prime MkII - Page 51: "Power attacks are special attacks that can be made by some models." "Power attacks are melee attacks with a 0.5" melee range"

    Prime MKII - Page 76: "A model can cast spells at any time during its activation but cannot interrupt its movement or attack to cast a spell."

    1 - Trample is a power attack.
    2 - Power attacks are melee attacks.
    3 - You cannot interrupt a melee attack to cast a spell.
    4 - You cannot cast spells until the trample power attack is resolved.

    However waiting for some1 to counter if any or an infernal.


    Kelmacett
    Admin

    Posts : 380
    Join date : 2010-03-30
    Age : 37
    Location : Gibraltar

    Re: Rule clarification - spells/animus

    Post by Kelmacett on Tue Jun 07, 2011 10:59 am

    Im afraid that right now its more of a rules lawyering than anything else.

    Everything in the games does their movement and then their attacks.
    Even not moving means you've done your movement first.

    You can move, do a spell and then do your attacks.

    Your arguement is based on fluff in that a trampling beasting is moving and attacking at the same time.

    But if you read the sequence of events for trample it says specifically that you do movement first and then after you move you resolve all your attacks.

    This is not any different to a charge or an advance followed by an attack.

    I can see where you a coming from though, but i believe rules as read are clear in that you can move, cast an spell, then attack which means you can call a "trample, move the model, cast a spell and then make the trample attacks".

    Neither the movement nor the attacks are being interrupted.

    Interrupting movement would be moving 3 inches, casting a spell and moving the rest.
    Interrutping an attack would be rolling to hit, casting a spell and rolling to wound.

    The trampling as i outlined above neither interrupts movement nor attacks. Your argument only stands if you cannot interrupt trampling (i.e movement plus attacks).

    But seriously mate this is rules lawyering so lets just leaving to the PP forums to rule on it.

    p.s where did you get this from "4 - You cannot cast spells until the trample power attack is resolved."???? Is it in the book? Because if it is then this solves the issue as a power attack is called during a models activation, but if it isnt then.. back the rules lawyering bit.


    _________________
    We were proud warriors of the Emperor, Truest sons of the Crimson King, Masters of the Great Ocean.
    Until the coming of Wolves, Great Burning, Mutatis Mutandis,
    and the Rubric absolute.

    Now. . . . .all . . isss . . . dusssstt.....

    Vangeleon
    Moderator

    Posts : 631
    Join date : 2010-05-24

    Re: Rule clarification - spells/animus

    Post by Vangeleon on Tue Jun 07, 2011 12:18 pm

    the infernals are ruling on it atm to remove the confusion, basically all cept skorne players believe cannot, however skorne players r qqing because of rush/**(add) animus

    But some skorne like to qq, seen some qqing about the theme force of one of their locks that allows FA +1 on agonisers, saying that they should be allowed to take more than 1 character agoniser (the BS seasonal). Hhaha got slapped down twice in dif threads tho, as FA:C cannot be added too, a funny read, cheeky bastard.

    NOTE when i said skorne players i did not mean u (in any way) just the players dicussing this are that.

    Kelmacett
    Admin

    Posts : 380
    Join date : 2010-03-30
    Age : 37
    Location : Gibraltar

    Re: Rule clarification - spells/animus

    Post by Kelmacett on Wed Jun 15, 2011 6:17 am

    And it has been ruled!

    http://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?65410-Spells-Feat-and-Charges

    Skorne QQ'ing works! We are gonna have to QQ the Cannoneer next Very Happy


    _________________
    We were proud warriors of the Emperor, Truest sons of the Crimson King, Masters of the Great Ocean.
    Until the coming of Wolves, Great Burning, Mutatis Mutandis,
    and the Rubric absolute.

    Now. . . . .all . . isss . . . dusssstt.....

    Sponsored content

    Re: Rule clarification - spells/animus

    Post by Sponsored content Today at 5:52 pm


      Current date/time is Thu Dec 08, 2016 5:52 pm