- WARGAMING -

WARBASTION'S LOCATION:

Leisure centre, rear entrance via line wall road. Door No. 4 & 5.

SIGN UP TO OUR NEW FACEBOOK PAGE!
ALL MEMBERS PLEASE MAKE YOUR WAY OVER TO::

www.warbastion.com:

And Register

    Grey Knights RAI/RAW issue...already!

    Share

    ElvisIsntDead
    Marine

    Posts : 304
    Join date : 2010-03-10
    Age : 31
    Location : Eye of Terror

    Grey Knights RAI/RAW issue...already!

    Post by ElvisIsntDead on Tue Apr 12, 2011 10:26 pm

    Hi all,

    Most of you have probably seen this on bols, however I see it as a issue considering I disagreed with a lot of the comments:



    So a downright sinister rules conundrum came to us on the trip back to Adepticon. As with any RAW/RAI argument we can't figure out within 5 minutes, we figured you all should help make the call.


    Today's Conundrum: the Astral Aim Psychic power possessed by Grey Knight Purgation squads. First the relevent rules snippet:

    "...If the Psychic test is passed, the unit (and any accompanying character) can shoot at any enemy unit within range, even if they do not have line of sight to it, or it is outside the distance they can see in a night fight."

    The Conundrum: Can a Purgation squad embarked in a vehicle which passes its Astral Aim test blaze away at targets as listed in the rule for the power, or not? In general, how does Astral Aim interact with vehicles and fireports, if it does at all?

    The Case For: Codex overrides core rulebook, and the psychic power clearly states "can shoot at any enemy unit within range" upon a psychic testing being passed. Other rules restrictions on firing are ignored. The second part of the listed sentence simply lists 2 common examples of restrictions that are ignored, not all the restrictions that are ignored (which the first half of the sentence covers).

    The Case Against: The psychic power doesn't specifically override the firing restrictions listed in the firing port rules in the vehicle section of the core rules. If they wanted that ability, they would have listed it specifically.

    In a game system that requires and promotes a bit of role playing, i see this as a psychic attack, so they make there rounds dissappear and reappear in front of the enemy. Most people seem to argue that even though they dont need LOS they have to actually be out of cover/in a vehicle to fire. So i would say yes to firing in a vehicle! but this does need a quick FAQ!

    thoughts?

    Elvis

      Current date/time is Sat Dec 10, 2016 5:21 am